To All The Horror Fans

I have been a fan of horror movies for as long as I can remember.  I began by watching Are You Afraid of the Dark? as a young child. As I grew a little older I became obsessed with Goosebumps books as a preteen. I would get the books and read them within a couple of days.

As a teenager, I started watching the classic slasher movies (Friday the 13th, Halloween, etc). There was an excitement about being scared. The adrenaline rush when a scene shocked or surprised you. All the other horror fans out there can relate to this feeling.

My tastes in horror movies have varied throughout the years. The went through a stage loving the gory movies. The bloodier the better! I enjoyed watching a lot of low budget movies. The acting and effects were not as good, but the gore was there.

Lucky for me I started dating a girl who loved horror movies as much as I did. One of our favorite pastimes was going to a video rental store and exploring the horror section. We had such good times watching these movies. We watched some really horrible movies along the way! However, occasionally you would come across a gem.

One night while in a Blockbuster, we came across a movie entitled Saw. Neither one of us had heard of the movie, but the description on the back of the box made it seem interesting. We rush back to my place and begin to watch the movie. From the first five minutes of the movie, I was hooked! It was a fairly low budget movie, but it was awesome!

The traps, the moral dilemmas, the voice of Jigsaw, the mystery throughout, and the big twist at the end made this a fantastic movie. Of course I must not have been the only one to think so since it became extremely popular and they produced several sequels.

Fast forward to today. I am a huge fan of The Walking Dead! Not just for the gore and zombies. (Although I still love that!) Now, I love that the show pushes the moral boundary. It makes us question…What would I do in that situation? I like for shows to make me think. The Walking Dead is great for this.

What started as an adrenaline rush is now deeper for me. I still love horror movies. Although, now I appreciate everything that goes in to making a good movie. The story line, the acting, the special effects, the underlying themes, and how they challenge the status quo.

So, to all the horror fans out there, feel free to comment with movie suggestions, horror blogs, or to get my thoughts on a movie.  I plan to write about the movies I watch and give my opinions on them (whatever that’s worth).

Leave a Reply

